
Utah Rules of Administrative Procedure: R671-315.  Pardons. 

 

R671-315-1.  Pardons. 

 

 A pardon is an act of grace that forgives a criminal conviction and restores the rights and 

privileges forfeited by or because of the criminal conviction.  A pardon releases an offender from the 

entire punishment prescribed for a criminal offense and from disabilities that are a consequence of the 

criminal conviction.  A pardon reinstates any civil rights lost as a consequence of conviction or 

punishment for a criminal offense. 

 

 A.  The Board may consider an application for a pardon from any individual who has been 

convicted of an offense in the state of Utah, after the applicant has exhausted all judicial remedies, 

including expungement, in an effort to ameliorate the effects of the conviction.  The Board generally 

will accept and consider a pardon application only after at least five years has passed since the 

sentence for the conviction has been terminated or expired. 

 1.  Any person seeking a pardon from the Board must complete and file, to the Board's 

satisfaction, an application in a form approved by the Board. 

 2.  In addition to the completed application, Board staff shall obtain and provide relevant 

information that shall include but not be limited to: 

 (a)  all police reports concerning the conviction for which the applicant is seeking a pardon; 

 (b)  all pre- or post- sentence reports prepared in connection with any sentence served in jail 

or prison, and for any conviction for which the applicant is seeking a pardon; 

 (c)  the applicant's inmate files; 

 (d)  a recent BCI report, NCIC report, and III report concerning the applicant; 

 (f)  the applicant's employment history; 

 (g)  verification that all imposed restitution, fines, fees, or surcharges have been paid in full; 

and 

 (h)  verification that the applicant completed therapy programs ordered by any court or by 

the Board. 

 

 2.  Board staff shall summarize this information and provide the application and additional 

information to the Board within 60 days from the date the completed application and all required 

information and documentation was received.  The Board may request additional information from 

staff or from the applicant. 

 

 3.  The Board shall consider the pardon application and all available information relevant to 

it and vote to grant or deny a hearing. 

 (a)  If a pardon hearing is granted the hearing should be held within 60 days, or as soon 

thereafter as practicable, of the Board's decision to grant a pardon hearing. 

  

4.  The Board shall publish notice of the pardon hearing on its web site and on the Utah 

Public Notice web site. 

  

B.  Upon scheduling a pardon hearing, notice shall be given to victims of record if they can 

be located, the chief law enforcement officer of the arresting agency, the presiding judge where the 

conviction was entered, and the County, District, or City Attorney where the case was prosecuted. 



 C.  The Board may grant a conditional pardon or an unconditional pardon. The petitioner 

will be notified in writing of the results as soon as practicable. 

  

D.  The Board may grant or deny a pardon by majority vote. Pardon decisions are final and 

are not subject to judicial review. 

  

E.  The Board may dispense with any requirement created by this rule for good cause. 
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