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Salt Lake County’s Data Breach

• Notification of the breach

• Is this a hoax?

• What is a white hat hacker?

• Understanding the loss and securing the data

• Notifying affected parties

• Addressing the Press and GRAMA requests

• Multi-state reporting

• Credit monitoring services

• Silence



Financial costs 
• Hundreds of staff hours

• $99,615.00 without staffing costs ($100,000 deductible)
• Outside counsel

• Outside PR firm experienced in responding to data breaches

• IDT 911, plus additional credit monitoring

• Fully reimbursed by our outside vendor who handled the data



IS YOUR ORGANIZATION A SITTING DUCK OR 
CAN SOMETHING BE DONE TO PREPARE?



Understand your data storage

• Think about the systems you use. Is your data contained within your county on 
your own servers?  Or do you allow third party hosting of data?

• Do you host data in the cloud or have third party storage of data?

• Do you use any internet based databases?

• If you have external data, do you have up to date contact information for these 
service providers?

• Do your third party providers have strict security requirements for securing your 
data? 



Understand the type of data you maintain

• The law categorizes information into PII (Personal Identifying Information) and 
PHI (Personal Health Information) and HIPPA covered Information.

• Different regulations apply to each category of information

• State Laws (Utah)
• Utah Code Ann. 13-44-101 et seq. (Protection of Personal Information Act)

• Utah Code Ann. 26-33a-101 (Utah Health Data Authority Act)

• Federal Laws
• HIPPA HITECH, Privacy and Security Rules (45 CFR 160)



Residents of Other States? 

• If your breach affects residents who currently reside in another 
state, you will need to notify those residents using their state rules. 
They may have different notification requirements and deadlines.  
Each state usually includes notification to their State’s Attorney 
General as well. 

• Sorting this out can take a substantial amount of time. 



PII (Personal Identifying Information)
• PII relevant to a breach in Utah includes an individual’s name with one or more of the following: 

• Social Security Number

• Driver license or state issues identification card number

• Account number or credit or debit card number in combination any security code, access code or 
password, etc. permitting access to the person's account.

• Data owners are responsible for breach reporting and notifications

• Limited methods of notification delivery

• You must notify the UT Data Owner immediately if breached

• Violations can result in heavy fines

• Data protection laws extend out-of-state

• See Utah Code Ann. 13-44-101 et seq. (Protection of Personal Information Act)



What is PHI (protected health information)?
• Protected health information (PHI) under US law is any information about health 

status, provision of health care, or payment for health care that is created or 
collected by a "Covered Entity" and can be linked to a specific individual. This 
includes any part of a patient's medical record or payment history.

• Counties may have this information as it relates to services performed by their :

• Health Department

• Jail

• County employees through their medical programs or Human resources 

• Other insurance programs (workers comp, life insurance, extended benefits)



PROTECTED HEALTH INFORMATION (PHI) 
INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING TYPES OF 
DATA:

• Name, social security, driver’s license or ID number

• Phone number, fax number, email, URL or other web addresses

• Medical record numbers, account numbers, policy numbers

• Serial numbers, vehicle numbers, 

• Biometric identifiers, fingerprints, retinal or voice prints

• Full face photographs or other comparable images



Under Utah law, there is no private right 
of action :

In Utah, the Attorney General enforces the law. There is no private right of action. 
Violation penalties could be up to $2,500 per consumer, but not over $100,000. The 
attorney general can seek injunctive relief to prevent future violations.

However, you may get direct claims relating to actual damages experienced by 
those persons involved in the data breach. 



If a breach occurs, what Action is required:
• Secure your data and begin documenting the event

• Documentation will be key to any loss recovery, insurance company demands and 
responding to media

• Understand the extent and manner of the data loss
• In order to properly notify, you need to know what was lost.

• Notification
After a determination regarding the scope of the breach and once reasonable 
integrity is restored to the system, the notification must be made in the most 
expedient time possible without unreasonable delay. An exception for delay is 
made if law enforcement indicates the notification may interfere with an 
investigation.
• Be aware that other states use a different standard (risk of harm analysis). If there is 

a reasonable likelihood of harm then notification is  required.   



Additional steps:

• Responding to media and notified parties

• Offering services to those impacted by the data breach

• Making necessary changes to regular operations

• Determining the financial impact from the breach

• Making a claim for any financial loss 



HIPPA COVERED DATA

• If your system contains Hippa data covered under the HIPPA HITECH Security 
Rules reporting must follow the federal rules. (45 CFR 160)

• Notification will need to be made under the rules, which also requires notification 
to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

• Timeline for notification 

• Plan for data post-Breach



PENALTIES 

Under HIPAA the Recovery Act allows for civil penalties of $50,000 per violation, with a cap 
of $1.5 million per calendar year for the most severe situations of willful neglect that a 
organization does not correct. The Office for Civil Rights (OCR) enforces complaints related 
to health information privacy and security. 
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The Security Rule?

Who needs to comply?

All HIPAA-covered entities and 
business associates of covered 
entities must comply with the 
Security Rule requirements.

The Security Rule does not 
apply to PHI transmitted orally 
or on paper.

PHI vs. ePHI

Electronic PHI (ePHI) is 
classified as all PHI that is 
stored, transmitted, or used 
electronically.

Secure What Info?

 Data in motion—data moving through a 

network (e.g., e-mail).

 Data at rest—data that is kept in 

databases, servers, flash drives, etc.

 Data in use—data that is in the process 

of being created, retrieved, updated, or 

deleted.

 Data disposed—data that has been 

discarded.
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So What can I do?
• Plan for a data breach 

• Have a response team ready

• Understand your data and data storage systems

• Know your reporting responsibilities

• Consider additional insurance coverage options

• Discover and Investigate all breaches of data
• Secure your data and report the breach

• Send notification to impacted persons

• Offer identity theft protection

• Make a public announcement and respond to news media

• Respond to inquiries 

• Resume Business 



Other Resources:
• Data Breach Response Guide http://www.experian.com/assets/data-

breach/brochures/response-guide.pdf (Experian Data Breach Resolution Team)

• Here is a 30-page PDF that includes how to handle each step of the response process, as 
well as information about specific kinds of breaches such as healthcare breaches.

• Model Data Security Breach Preparedness Guide (American Bar Association) 
http://www.americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/administrative/litigation/materials/sac_2012/22-
15_intro_to_data_security_breach_preparedness.authcheckdam.pdf

• This PDF provides an overview from the legal perspective of how to prepare for a data breach.

• Data Breach Charts 
• http://www.bakerlaw.com/files/Uploads/Documents/Data%20Breach%20documents/Data_Breach_Charts.pdf 

• This is a great starting point to review how different states' data breach laws compare. Again, it 
doesn't take the place of your legal team, but it's a helpful overview.

http://www.experian.com/assets/data-breach/brochures/response-guide.pdf
http://www.americanbar.org/content/dam/aba/administrative/litigation/materials/sac_2012/22-15_intro_to_data_security_breach_preparedness.authcheckdam.pdf
http://www.bakerlaw.com/files/Uploads/Documents/Data Breach documents/Data_Breach_Charts.pdf


Cyber liability insurance

• Coverage can provide:
• Damages related to cyber losses

• Breach Council

• Credit monitoring services

• Assistance with meeting notification requirements in all 50 states

• Counsel related to Press inquiries

• Assistance with Follow up issues related to data retrieval



The quiet end to a data breach


