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Plea Bargaining and Sentencing 
*or* 

What are we doing here, anyway? 
 

2016 Basic Prosecutor Course 
Ryan Stack, Summit County Prosecuting Attorney  

rstack@summitcounty.org  
435-615-3857 

 
I) Plea Bargaining 
 

a) The prosecutor’s role – not to win or stick it to the defendant, but to be a minister of 
justice  
i) Paper files, open files 
ii) Stay cool  
iii) Trust but verify  

 
b) Why do we make offers? 

 
c) What do you want out of your case? 

i) Wake up call 
ii) Future enhancement  
iii) Treatment (DV, DUI) 
iv) Protective order / stalking injunction 
v) Community service 
vi) Fine 
vii) Restitution (complete and court ordered, see State v. Laycock, 2009 UT 53) 
viii) Jail/Prison  
ix) Other considerations?  

 
d) Fashioning your offer 

i) Defendant’s history (DL, Utah, III) 
ii) Evidentiary concerns 
iii) Suppression issues 
iv) Enhancement  
v) Fundamental fairness 

(1) The obstreperous defense attorney  
(2) Special treatment? Duke skier case 

vi) So what do you do? 
(1) Diversion??  Nobody wants to eat a rotten apple  
(2) PIA, § 77-2a-1 et seq. 

(a) Duration, § 77-2a-2(5) 

mailto:rstack@summitcounty.org
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(i) 18 months if to misdemeanor 
(ii) 36 months if for any class of felony  

(b) Never for DUI’s or any sex offenses involving a victim under  
age 14 (§ 77-2a-3(7), (8)) 

(c) Can judge modify? No, only accept or reject 
(d) Ends with dismissal or entry of conviction for reduced degree of offense 

(§ 77-2a-3(2))  
(3) Reduction, § 76-3-402; 1 or 2 step (reduction v. amending down, considerations) 
(4) Plead as charged 
(5) Trial 

(a) Don’t be afraid to try cases 
(b) New LDA’s/defense attorneys 

(i) Not always the most reasonable, want to try everything 
(ii) Pick your strongest cases and make them go to trial 

 
e) Write.  It.  Down.   

 
f) Special Considerations 

i) Office policy/The Boss/Political Landmines (B list actor case)  
ii) Victims’ rights – what does your victim(s) want out of your case?? See (I)(c) above. 
iii) Pro se Defendants  
iv) Your credibility and reputation 

(1) Within your office / other prosecutors 
(2) With the defense bar 
(3) With the bench – judges talk! 

 
g) Ethical, Other Considerations  

i) Tell the truth 
ii) The Supreme Court Speaks 

(1) Missouri v. Frye (566 U. S. ____ (2012), 132 S.Ct. 1399) – Defense counsel failed 
to convey plea offer to defendant, offer lapsed, the defendant pleaded guilty but 
on more severe terms.  “[A]s a general rule, defense counsel has the duty to 
communicate formal offers from the prosecution to accept a plea on terms and 
conditions that may be favorable to the accused.”  The failure to do so may give 
rise to an ineffective assistance of counsel claim.  To show prejudice from 
ineffective assistance, “defendants must demonstrate a reasonable probability 
they would have accepted the earlier plea offer had they been afforded effective 
assistance of counsel.  Defendants must also demonstrate a reasonable 
probability the plea would have been entered without the prosecution canceling 
it or the trial court refusing to accept it, if they had the authority to exercise that 
discretion under state law.”  Criminal defendant has the right to effective 
counsel during the plea process.   
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(2) Lafler v. Cooper (566 U. S. ____ (2012), 132 S.Ct. 1376)  – Favorable plea offer 
was conveyed by defense counsel but rejected on counsel’s advice; trial was held 
and the defendant was sentenced more harshly than would have been under 
plea offer.  This was ineffective assistance.  “A defendant must show that but for 
the ineffective advice of counsel there is a reasonable probability that the plea 
offer would have been presented to the court (i.e., that the defendant would 
have accepted the plea and the prosecution would not have withdrawn it in light 
of intervening circumstances), that the court would have accepted its terms, and 
that the conviction or sentence, or both, under the offer’s terms would have 
been less severe than under the judgment and sentence that in fact were 
imposed.”   

(3) What about talking with pro se defendants? 
(4) Concerns offers aren’t conveyed? The record(ing) is your friend. 
 

h) Your colleagues are a resource, use them! 
 

i) Bargaining styles 
i) It is what it is 
ii) Give and take  
iii) Find what works for you  
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II) Sentencing 
 
a) The Matrix  

 
b) DUI Matrix 

 
c) Statutory considerations, mandatory minimums  

 
d) Jail as a condition of probation 

 
e) Suspended jail time, suspended fines  

 
f) Restitution – complete and court ordered (§ 77-38a-1 et seq.)  

 
g) Victims’ Rights (Bill of Rights, § 77-37-3; Rights of Crime Victims, § 77-38-1 et seq.) 

 
h) Rules of Evidence apply at sentencing? No (URE 1101(c)(3))   

 
i) Come full circle to … the prosecutor’s role Æ minister of justice, in Berger v. U.S., 295 

U.S. 78, 88 (1935)(emphasis added), Justice Sutherland wrote: 
 

The [prosecutor] is the representative not of an ordinary party to a controversy, but 
of a sovereignty whose obligation to govern impartially is as compelling as its 
obligation to govern at all; and whose interest, therefore, in a criminal prosecution 
is not that it shall win a case, but that justice shall be done. As such, he is in a 
peculiar and very definite sense the servant of the law, the twofold aim of which is 
that guilt shall not escape or innocence suffer. He may prosecute with earnestness 
and vigor-indeed, he should do so. But, while he may strike hard blows, he is not at 
liberty to strike foul ones. It is as much his duty to refrain from improper methods 
calculated to produce a wrongful conviction as it is to use every legitimate means to 
bring about a just one. 
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FORM 1 – GENERAL MATRIX 
CRIMINAL HISTORY ASSESSMENT 

These are guidelines only. They do not create any right or expectation on behalf of the offender.   Matrix time frames refer to imprisonment only. Refer  to the 
categorization of offenses.  Capital offenses are not considered within the context of the sentencing guidelines. 

  
PRIOR FELONY CONVICTIONS  0   NONE   PRIOR PERSON CRIME CONVICTIONS  0   NONE 

(SEPARATE ADULT CONVICTIONS)  2   ONE   (PRIOR ADULT OR JUVENLE CONVICTION) 2   PERSON CRIME 

     4   TWO        4   PERSON CRIME 

     6   THREE              W/INJURY 

     8   FOUR +   

 

PRIOR CLASS A MISDEMEANOR CONVICTIONS 0   NONE   PRIOR JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS WITHIN  0   NONE   

(SEPARATE ADULT CONVICTIONS)  1   ONE OR TWO  PAST 10 YEARS (OFFENSES THAT WOULD 1   ONE 

     2   THREE - FIVE  HAVE BEEN FELONIES IF COMMITTED BY 2   TWO - FOUR  

     3   SIX +   AN ADULT) (THREE CLASS A MISDEMEANOR 3   FIVE +  

        ADJUDICATIONS EQUAL ONE FELONY)    

             

SUPERVISION HISTORY                  -1   SUCCESSFUL COMPL.  

(ADULT OR JUVENILE)(SUCCESSFUL INCLUDES 0   NO PRIOR SUPERV.        

ALL FORMS OF PROBATION; OTHERWISE, DO 2   PRIOR REVOCATION 

NOT COUNT PRETRIAL OR COURT SUPERV.) 3   CURRENT OFFENSE      TOTAL SCORE:  ___________ 

             ON SUPERV.  

 

OFFENDER’S NAME: SCORER’S NAME: DATE SCORED:  
CRIMINAL HISTORY 

ROW 

ACTIVE CONVICTIONS (MOST SERIOUS FIRST): CRIME CATEGORY: TIME: 
 
 
 
TOTAL: 

V 
IV 
III 
II 
I 

16+ 
12 – 15 
8 – 11 
4 – 7 
0 - 3 

 
CRIME CATEGORY 

              

  1st  
Degree 
Murder 

 
A 

1st  
Degree 
Death 

 
B 

2nd  
Degree 
Death 

 
C 

1st  
Degree 
Person 

 
D 

3rd  
Degree 
Death 

 
E 

1st 

 Degree 
Other 

 
F 

2nd  
Degree 
Person 

 
G 

3rd  
Degree 
Person 

 
H 

2nd 
Degree 
Other 

 
I 

2nd 
Degree 
Poss. 

 
J 

3rd 
Degree 
Other 

 
K 

3rd 
Degree 
Poss. 

 
L 

CR
IM

IN
A

L 
H

IS
TO

R
Y 

 
V 

 

24 YRS 

 

10 YRS 

 

* 

 

10 YRS 

 

48 MOS 

 

84 MOS 

 

54 MOS 

 

32 MOS 26 MOS 16 MOS 16 MOS 14 MOS 

 
IV 

 

22 YRS 

 

9 YRS 

 

* 

 

9 YRS 

 

42 MOS 

 

78 MOS 

 

42 MOS 

 

26 MOS 20 MOS 14 MOS 14 MOS 12 MOS 

 
III 

 

20 YRS 

 

8 YRS 

 

* 

 

8 YRS 

 

36 MOS 

 

72 MOS 

 

30 MOS 

 

20 MOS 16 MOS 12 MOS 8 MOS 8 MOS 

 
II 

 

20 YRS 

 

7 YRS 

 

* 

 

7 YRS 

 

24 MOS 

 

66 MOS 

 

24 MOS 

 

16 MOS 14 MOS 10 MOS 6 MOS 6 MOS 

 
I 

 

20 YRS 

 

6 YRS 

 

* 

 

6 YRS 

 

20 MOS 

 

60 MOS 

 

18 MOS 

 

14 MOS 12 MOS 8 MOS 5 MOS 4 MOS 

*The statutory range is 1-15 years.  The Board of Pardons will consider all aggravating and mitigating factors in determining length of stay.  Because the facts  

of the cases in this crime category are widely divergent, and criminal history is less determinative than in other categories, a single guideline  

recommendation is not helpful in determining length of stay.  
Consecutive Enhancements:  40% of the shorter sentence is to be added to the full length of the longer sentence. 
Concurrent Enhancements:  10% of the shorter sentence is to be added to the full length of the longer sentence. 

Rev. 10/2015 

INTERMEDIATE SANCTIONS 

PRESUMPTIVE PROBATION 
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  FORM 1a – ATTEMPTED AGG. MURDER WITH SERIOUS BODILY INJURY 
CRIMINAL HISTORY ASSESSMENT 

These are guidelines only. They do not create any right or expectation on behalf of the offender.   Matrix time frames refer to imprisonment only. Refer  to the 
categorization of offenses.  Capital offenses are not considered within the context of the sentencing guidelines. 

  
PRIOR FELONY CONVICTIONS  0   NONE   PRIOR PERSON CRIME CONVICTIONS  0   NONE 

(SEPARATE ADULT CONVICTIONS)  2   ONE   (PRIOR ADULT OR JUVENILE CONVICTION) 2   PERSON CRIME 

     4   TWO        4   PRSON CRIME 

     6   THREE             W/INJURY 

     8   FOUR+     

 

PRIOR CLASS A MISDEMEANOR CONVICTIONS 0   NONE   PRIOR JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS WITHIN  0   NONE   

(SEPARATE ADULT CONVICTIONS)  1   ONE OR TWO  PAST 10 YEARS (OFFENSES THAT WOULD 1   ONE 

     2   THREE - FIVE  HAVE BEEN FELONIES IF COMMITTED BY 2   TWO - FOUR  

     3   SIX +   AN ADULT) (THREE CLASS A MISDEMEANOR 3   FIVE +  

        ADJUDICATIONS EQUAL ONE FELONY)    

             

SUPERVISION HISTORY                  -1   SUCCESSFUL COMPL.  

(ADULT OR JUVENILE)(SUCCESSFUL INCLUDES 0   NO PRIOR SUPERV.        

ALL FORMS OF PROBATION; OTHERWISE, DO 2   PRIOR REVOCATION 

NOT COUNT PRETRIAL OR COURT SUPERV.) 3   CURRENT OFFENSE      TOTAL SCORE:  ___________ 

             ON SUPERV.  

   

OFFENDER’S NAME: SCORER’S NAME: DATE SCORED:  
CRIMINAL HISTORY 

ROW 

ACTIVE CONVICTIONS (MOST SERIOUS FIRST): CRIME CATEGORY: TIME: 
 
 
 
TOTAL: 

V 
IV 
III 
II 
I 

16+ 
12 – 15 
8 – 11 
4 – 7 
0 - 3 

 
 

     

   
15 YRS  
TO LIFE 

 
A 

 
10 YRS 
TO LIFE 

 
B 

 
6 YRS 

TO LIFE 
 

C 

 

 
V 

 

21 YRS 

 

14 YRS 

 

100 MOS 

 
IV 

 

20 YRS 

 

13 YRS 

 

95 MOS 

 
III 

 

18 YRS 

 

12 YRS 

 

90 MOS 

 
II 

 

17 YRS 

 

138 MOS 

 

85 MOS 

 
I 

 

16 YRS 

 

11 YRS 

 

80 MOS 

 

 
Consecutive Enhancements:  40% of the shorter sentence is to be added to the full length of the longer sentence. 
Concurrent Enhancements:  10% of the shorter sentence is to be added to the full length of the longer sentence. 

      

FORM 1a – ATTEMPTED AGG. MURDER WITH SERIOUS BODILY INJURY 

Rev. 10/2015 
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FORM 2 - AGGRAVATING AND MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES 
 

(Use Form 4 also for Sex Offenses with Alternative Minimum Lengths of Stay) 
 
Note any aggravating or mitigating circumstances that may justify departure from the guidelines by entering the page 

number of the presentence report where the court can find supporting information. 
This list of aggravating and mitigating factors is non-exhaustive and illustrative only. 

The weight given to each factor by the sentencing authority will vary in each case.  Any one factor could 
outweigh some or all other factors. 

 
Aggravating Circumstances 
Only use aggravating circumstances if they are not an element of the offense. 
 
PSI Page # 
_____1. Multiple documented incidents of violence not resulting in conviction. (Requires court approved 

stipulation.)  
_____2. Offender presents a serious threat of violent behavior. 
_____3. Victim was particularly vulnerable. 
_____4. Injury to person or property loss was unusually extensive. 
_____5. Offense was characterized by extreme cruelty or depravity. 
_____6. There were multiple charges or victims. 
_____7. Offender’s attitude is not conducive to supervision in a less restrictive setting. 
_____8. Offender continued criminal activity subsequent to arrest. 
_____9. Sex Offenses:  Correction’s validated assessment tools classify as a high risk offender. 
_____10. Offender was in position of authority over victim(s). 
_____11. Financial crime or theft crime involved numerous victims, an exploitation of a position of trust, a 

substantial amount of money, or receipt of money from sources including, but not limited to, equity in a 
person’s home or a person’s retirement fund. 

_____12. Offender occupied “position of trust” in relation to murder/homicide victim(s) (U.C.A. 76-3-406.5(2)) 
_____13. Offense constitutes a “hate crime” in that it is likely to incite community unrest; cause community to 

reasonably fear for physical safety or freely exercise constitutionally secured rights (U.C.A.  76-3-203.4) 
_____14. Violence committed in the presence of a child. 
_____15. Other (Specify)________________________________________________________ 
 
Mitigating Circumstances 
 
_____1. Offender’s criminal conduct neither caused nor threatened serious harm. 
_____2. Offender acted under strong provocation. 
_____3. There were substantial grounds to excuse or justify criminal behavior, though failing to establish a 

defense. 
_____4. Offender is young. 
_____5. Offender assisted law enforcement in the resolution of other crimes. 
_____6. Restitution would be severely compromised by incarceration. 
_____7. Offender’s attitude suggests amenability to supervision. 
_____8. Offender has exceptionally good employment and/or family relationships. 
_____9. Validated assessment classifies offender as low risk to reoffend. 
_____10. Offender has extended period of arrest-free street time. 
_____11. Offender was less active participant in the crime. 
_____12. All offenses were from a single criminal episode. 
_____13. Offense(s) was “possession only” drug offense.(see “possession only” offenses, Addendum B) 
_____14. Offender has completed or has nearly completed payment of restitution. 
_____15. Other (Specify)________________________________________________________ 
 
 Days of Jail Credit ______________ 
 Guidelines Placement Recommendation________________________________ 
 AP&P Recommendations____________________________________________ 
 Reason for Departure_______________________________________________ 
 
OFFENDER NAME:___________________________ 
SCORER NAME: _____________________________ 
DATE SCORED:______________________________                                                            
 
Rev. 10/2015 
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FORM 3 – SEX & KIDNAP OFFENDER MATRIX 
CRIMINAL HISTORY ASSESSMENT 

These are guidelines only. They do not create any right or expectation on behalf of the offender.   Matrix time frames refer to imprisonment only.  

  
PRIOR FELONY CONVICTIONS  0   NONE   PRIOR PERSON CRIME CONVICTIONS  0   NONE 

(SEPARATE ADULT CONVICTIONS)  2   ONE   (PRIOR ADULT OR JUVENILE CONVICTION) 2   PERSON CRIME 

     4   TWO        4   PERSON CRIME 

     6   THREE              W/INJURY 

     8   FOUR+    

 

PRIOR CLASS A MISDEMEANOR CONVICTIONS 0   NONE   PRIOR JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS WITHIN  0   NONE   

(SEPARATE ADULT  CONVICIONS)  1   ONE OR TWO  PAST 10 YEARS (OFFENSES THAT WOULD 1   ONE 

     2   THREE - FIVE  HAVE BEEN FELONIES IF COMMITTED BY 2   TWO - FOUR  

     3   SIX +   AN ADULT) (THREE CLASS A MISDEMEANOR 3   FIVE +  

        ADJUDICATIONS EQUAL ONE FELONY)    

 

SUPRVISION HISTORY   -1   SUCCESFUL COMPL. NUMBER OF PRIOR SEX/KIDNAP VICTIMS 0   NO PRIOR VICTIMS 

(ADULT OR JUVENILE)(SUCCESSFUL INCLUDES  0   NO PRIOR SUPERV. (EXCLUDING PRESENT VICTIM)  3   ONE PRIOR  

ALL FORMS OF PROBATION; OTHERWISE, DO  2   PRIOR REVOCATION      4  TWO +  

NOT INCLUDE PRETRIAL OR COURT SUPERV.)  3   CURRENT OFFENSE   

           ON SUPERV.    

         

       TOTAL SCORE:  ___________       

   

OFFENDER’S NAME: SCORER’S NAME: DATE SCORED:  
CRIMINAL HISTORY 

ROW 

ACTIVE CONVICTIONS (MOST SERIOUS FIRST): CRIME CATEGORY: TIME: 
 
 
 
TOTAL: 

 
III 
II 
I 

 
7+ 

4 - 6 
0 - 3 

 
 
 
 

CRIME CATEGORY 
            

  1st Degree 
Mand. 
Prison 

15 – Life 

A 

1st Degree 
Mand. 
Prison 

10 - Life 

B 

1st Degree 
Mand. 
Prison 
6 - Life 

C 

1st Degree 
Mand. 
Prison 
5 - Life 

D 

1st Degree 
Mand. 
Prison 
3 - Life 

E 

1st Degree 
 
 

5 – Life 

F 

1st Degree 
 

 
3 – Life 

G 

2nd Degree 
 
 

1 - 15 

H 

3rd Degree 
 
 

0 – 5 

I 

Class A 
Misd. 

  
0 - 1 

J 

CR
IM

IN
A

L 
H

IS
TO

R
Y 

 
III 21 YRS 

 

14 YRS 

 

100 MOS 

 

75 MOS 

 

75 MOS 

 

75 MOS 

 

75 MOS 64 MOS 42 MOS 

 

 
II 18 YRS 

 

12 YRS 

 

90 MOS 

 

66 MOS 

 

64 MOS 66 MOS 

 

 

62 MOS 

 

48 MOS 36 MOS 

 

 
I 16 YRS 

 

11 YRS 

 

80 MOS 

 

60 MOS 

 

42 MOS 

 

60 MOS 

 

42MOS 

 

40 MOS 32 MOS 

 

Consecutive Enhancements:  40% of the shorter sentence is to be added to the full length of the longer sentence. 
Concurrent Enhancements:  10% of the shorter sentence is to be added to the full length of the longer sentence. 

      

 

FORM 3 – SEX & KIDNAP OFFENDER MATRIX 
CRIMINAL HISTORY ASSESSMENT 

These are guidelines only. They do not create any right or expectation on behalf of the offender.   Matrix time frames refer to imprisonment only.  

  

Rev. 10/2015 

INTERMEDIATE  
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FORM 4 - AGGRAVATING & MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES  
FOR SEX OFFENSES WITH  

ALTERNATIVE MINIMUM LENGTHS OF STAY 
(Also use Form 2 for all sex offenses) 

 
Utah law provides alternative indeterminate lengths of stay (6 years to life, 10 years to life, or 15 years to life) for sex 
offenses represented by columns A, B, and C on Form 3 – Sex & Kidnap Offender Matrix.  The court shall order the 

term of 15 years to life, for offenders convicted of one of these offenses unless mitigating circumstances justify 
downward departure to an indeterminate term of ten years to life or six years to life.  The responsibility to weigh 
aggravating and mitigating circumstances in each case rests with the court, subject to applicable statutes and 

relevant case law.  The weight given to each factor by the sentencing authority will vary in each case.  The pre-
sentence investigator should note any aggravating or mitigating circumstance that merits consideration by the court 

by entering the page number of the presentence report where the court can find supporting information. 
This list of aggravating and mitigating factors is non-exhaustive and illustrative only.  

 
Aggravating Circumstances 

 
The following aggravating circumstances should only be considered if they are not an element of the offense. 
 
PSI Page # 
_____1. The victim suffered substantial bodily injury or serious bodily injury. 
_____2. The offense was characterized by extreme cruelty or depravity. 
_____3. The victim was unusually vulnerable. 
_____4. Offender has previously failed to complete treatment or has completed treatment and re-offended. 
_____5. The defendant exhibited grooming, stalking or enticing behaviors. 
_____6. Other (Specify)  _______________________________________________________ 
 
Mitigating Circumstances 
 
_____1. The offender was exceptionally cooperative with law enforcement; i.e. self-surrender or confession. 
_____2. Incest offender has strong, supportive family relationships. 
_____3. Offender is a good candidate for an evidence-based treatment program.  Substance abuse treatment 

may be appropriate if the offense was specifically substance related. 
_____4. Developmental disabilities of the offender may be considered in mitigation if highly structured 

alternatives can be utilized to control the offender’s criminal behavior. 
_____5. Other (Specify) _______________________________________________________ 
 
OFFENDER NAME: ______________________________ DATE SCORED: ____________ 
SCORER’S NAME: _______________________                 
                                                                        
Rev. 10/2015
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FORM 5 – JAIL AS A CONDITION OF PROBATION MATRICES  
 

Numbers in unshaded cells are presumptive probation sentences, meaning jail time should NOT necessarily be 
recommended to the court by the supervising agency.  Alternative sanctions and/or non-incarceration sanctions are 

encouraged in these cells. 
Lighter shaded cells are indicative of intermediate sanctions / intensive supervision, which may include increased 
monitoring or supervision, electronic monitoring, referral to treatment resource centers, participation in residential 

programming, special conditions of probation, etc. 
The upper number in each cell is the maximum incarceration period of jail time which should be imposed by the 

court at the time of sentencing.  The mid-point in each cell is generally recommended for the supervising agency to 
begin the analysis with aggravating/mitigating factors to be considered in addition to validated assessment scores 

and the impact of incarceration upon risk to reoffend. 
These notations apply to both forms 5 and 5a. 

 

GENERAL MATRIX  
(To be used with Form 1) 

 

 2nd 
Death 

1st 
Person 

3rd 
Death 

1st 
Other 

2nd 
Person 

3rd 
Person 

2nd 
Other 

2nd 
Poss 

3rd 
Other 

3rd 
Poss 

V 365 365 365 365 365 300 300 300 270 150 

IV 365 365 320 320 320 300 300 270 210 120 

III 365 300 270 270 270 180 180 180 150 0-90 

II 365 270 240 240 240 150 0-120 0-120 0-90 0-60 

I 365 240 210 210 210 120 0-90 0-60 0-60 0-30 

 
 
  

SEX & KIDNAP OFFENSE MATRIX 
(To be used with Form 3) 

 

 1st 2nd 3rd 

III 365 320 180 

II 365 250 180 

I 320 210 120 

 
Rev. 10/2015  

180 

180 

210 

PRESUMPTIVE PROBATION 
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FORM 5A - MISDEMEANOR MATRIX 

  

 Class  
A  

Person 
Crime 

Class  
B  

Person 
Crime* 

Class  
A 

Other 

Class  
B  

DV 
Other* 

Class  
A  

POCS 

Class B* Class C 
and 

Below 

V 0-210 0-180 0-150 0-120 0-90 0-60  
IV 0-180 0-150 0-120 0-90 0-75 0-45  
III 0-150 0-120 0-90 0-75 0-45 0-30  
II 0-120 0-90 0-60 0-45 0-30 0-15  
I 0-90 0-60 0-30 0-30 0-15 0-15  

 
10/2015 
 
* “Class B Person Crime” includes domestic violence offenses involving spouses and/or intimate partners; “Class B DV Other” 
includes domestic violence offenses involving other cohabitants, property offenses, and other non-person crimes.  “Class B” does 
not include DUI offenses.  See DUI Matrix.   
 
Presumptive Probation / Alternative Sanctions 
 
The Sentencing Commission recommends that the court impose the fine appropriate for the most serious offense for 
which the defendant is convicted.  If there are multiple counts, and the court believes a more serious financial penalty 
is appropriate, the Commission recommends the court impose at most 10% of the recommended fines for each 
additional count.  The Commission does not recommend the imposition of any suspended amount of fine, as 
violations should be addressed with behavior modification sanctions as identified in Form 10, not financial ones. The 
Commission encourages courts to allow defendants credits or offsets against ordered fines for completed counseling 
and other achieved goals (UA’s, etc.). 
 
Generally, the Commission recommends that misdemeanor courts faced with sentencing a defendant who is already 
being supervised for a more serious offense (whether that be recently sentenced, or an earlier grant of probation) 
consider allowing that grant of probation to provide the programming.  However, given the specific safety concerns for 
identifiable victim(s) in person crimes such as domestic violence offenses, the Commission recognizes the 
appropriateness of probation terms tailored by each court to maximize victim safety.  The protection of victim(s) in 
such cases is of prime importance.  Lethality assessments are recommended in domestic violence offenses if 
available.  Consider recommendations for sentencing protective orders, but recognize that protective orders issued 
by civil courts are broader and offer permanent protections.   
 
The jail days indicated should not be considered “mandatory minimums” and should not be presumed to ensure the 
safety of a particular victim.  The Commission recognizes that courts must weigh many factors in each case, 
balancing the core principles of sentencing as outlined previously.  Courts should recognize the statutory presumption 
for counseling in domestic violence cases, recognizing that current modalities of treatment are directed primarily at 
intimate partners.  As more differentiated treatments become readily available and validated, the statutory 
requirements and guideline recommendations should be updated accordingly.   
 
See Form 10 for a non-exhaustive list of Non-Incarceration Sanctions currently anticipated within the behavior 
modification context.   

PRESUMPTIVE PROBATION/ALT. SANCT. 



UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX                                           (Current as of May 12, 2015) 
 

 
Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

 

MISDEMEANOR DUI 
 

FELONY DUI 
FIRST OFFENSE SECOND OFFENSE 

WITHIN 10 YEARS 
 

 
CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 

 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger is under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR  
 

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 

 

$ if bodily injury1 
$ if passenger under 16 
$ if passenger is under 18  
    and driver is 21 or older 
 

 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
$ if third or subsequent offense 

within 10 years 
$ if serious bodily injury1 
$ if any prior felony DUI 

conviction or automobile 
homicide1 conviction 

 
Jail 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
   48 consecutive hours OR 
   48 hours compensatory 
   service OR 48 hours 
   electronic home confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   240 consecutive hours OR 
   240 hours compensatory        
   service OR 240 hours  
   electronic home confinement2 

 
SHALL order: 
   0-5 year prison term OR 
   1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)    
   OR 1,500 hours electronic 
   home confinement2 

Fine, Surcharge, 
and Court 
Security Fee 
(§41-6a-505) 
(§51-9-401) 

 
SHALL order: 
   $700 minimum fine plus a  
   $630 surcharge plus a  
   $40 court security fee 

 
SHALL order: 
   $800 minimum fine plus a 
   $720 surcharge plus a 
   $40 court security fee 

 
SHALL order: 
   $1,500 minimum fine plus a   
    $1,350 surcharge plus a   
   $40 court security fee, unless 
   a 0-5 prison term is imposed 

 
Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
$ Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
$ Treatment 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Screening 
$ Assessment 
$ Treatment as appropriate, 

unless 0-5 prison term is 
imposed 

Probation3 
(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

 

SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is 
not imposed 

 

Ignition 
Interlock4 
(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

 
MAY order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 

violation OR describe on the 
record why such order not 
appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on 
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
$ Interlock if under 21 
$ Interlock for an ARD5 
    violation OR describe on   
    the record why such order 
    not appropriate 

 
High BAC 
(.16 or higher) 
 
 

(§41-6a-505) 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or ankle attached 
continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device 
and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or ankle attached 
continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device 
and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 
SHALL order: 
$ Supervised probation3 if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
$ Treatment and interlock4 

and/or ankle attached 
continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device 
and/or electronic home 
confinement2 OR describe 
on the record why such 
order(s) not appropriate 

 

Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

 

Court MAY order additional   
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or  2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or 2 years 

 

Court MAY order additional    
90 days, 120 days, 180 days, 
one year or 2 years 

                                                           
1A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the 
 same episode of driving.  
2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
3Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body). 
4Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a  
 condition of probation. 
5Alcohol restricted driver 



 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a 
court order.  Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions. 
 

Statutory 
Provisions 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FIRST OFFENSE 
 

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS 

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation 
Driving Under 
the Influence/ 
DUI Conviction 
(§41-6a-509) 
 
 
 
 
 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st   
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if 
the person completes a screening; completes an assessment if 
appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse 
treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has not been convicted 
of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has 
complied with all terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to 
probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the person 
has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period. 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
  
 
  

Driving with 
Controlled 
Substance/ 
Metabolite in 
Body Conviction 
(§41-6a-517) 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of one year or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday 
 

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21: 
Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not 
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner 
during the suspension period. 
 

If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If 19-20:  Longer of two years or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

If under 19:  Until 21st birthday   

Refusal of 
Chemical Test 
(§41-6a-521) 

If 21 or older:  18 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st 

   birthday 

If 21 or older:  36 months 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 36 months or until 21st  
   birthday 
 

Per se Arrest 
(§53-3-223) 
≥ .08 BAC, impaired to 
degree unsafe to drive, 
operating with metabolite of 
drug in system 

If 21 or older:  120 days 
 

If under 21:  6 months  
If 21 or older:  2 years 
 

If under 21:  Longer of 2 years or until 21st 
birthday 
 

 

Not A Drop 
(§53-3-231) 
 

A person under 21 may not 
operate a vehicle or 
motorboat with detectable 
alcohol in body 

If under 21:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, but 
not less than 6 months 
 

If under 21:  Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, and 
the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 
 

Failure to Install or Removal 
of Ignition Interlock Device  
(§53-3-1007) 

An individual who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege 
suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.  If the 
interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver 
license shall be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is re-installed.  This suspension 
may be imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above. 

Other Sanctions 
 

IRD – Interlock 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
 

An “interlock restricted 
driver” may not operate a 
motor vehicle without an 
ignition interlock system.  

• 18 months IRD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21 
• 3 years IRD for 1st Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21 
• 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years:  DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to 

Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-
6a-512 – only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled 
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide  (§76-5-207)  

• 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
Note:  Abeyances count as convictions, as defined in §41-6a-501; if all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply 

 

ARD – Alcohol 
Restricted 
Driver 
(§41-6a-529)  

An “alcohol restricted driver” 
may not operate or be in 
actual physical control of a 
vehicle with any measurable 
or detectable amount of 
alcohol in the person’s 
body. 

• 2 years ARD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223) 
• 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD 

(§41-6a-530) offense 
• 5 years ARD for 1st Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502) 
• 10 years ARD for 2nd offense, if 2nd offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations 

prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-521); 
and 1st offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

• Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 
Note: Abeyances count as convictions as stated in §53-3-229, excluding ARD and IRD abeyances; if Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply. 


